Gamescom 2020 Starts Today: Schedule And How To Watch Featured

Gamescom is one of the highlights of the annual video game calendar. E3 2020 might have been cancelled in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic, but there's still plenty to look forward to in 2020 – including Gamescom.

 

The huge event won't be taking place physically, but fans will be able to tune in to an online version to check out some fresh new announcements and demos. Germany’s ban on all major events until 31 August, 2020 means that Gamescom 2020, which should have taken place in Cologne from 25-29 August, has been forced to go online only.

 

Gamescom gets started with the Opening Night Live stream, which has been teased to showcase a wide variety of games. Read on for a look at that we know about so far, when things start, and how to watch live.

 

How To Watch Gamescom 2020

Since the event is streaming, you'll be able to watch using the Gamescom YouTube channel. Gamescom is also being treated as the culmination of Keighley's Summer Game Fest event, which has aired on The Game Awards account.

 

Gamescom 2020 Start Date And Schedule

Start date: Thursday, August 27
End date: Sunday, August 30

 

Gamescom Opening Night Live Start Times

11 AM PT

2 PM ET
8 PM CEST
4 AM AEST (Friday)

 


The games and announcements to expect

Opening Night Live will mostly feature announcements about games we already know about, or that are already out. Here are the companies and games we currently know will be there:

 

2K (Mafia: Definitive Edition)
Activision (Call of Duty: Black Ops - Cold War)
Bandai Namco (Little Nightmares 2)
Bethesda (Doom Eternal: The Ancient Gods, Part One)
Blizzard (WoW: Shadowlands, Afterlives animated series)
Bungie (Destiny 2: Beyond Light)
Deep Silver (Chorus)
Devolver (Fall Guys Season Two)
EA (Star Wars Squadrons, New Sims 4 DLC, Medal of Honor: Above and Beyond)
Frontier
Focus Home Interactive
Gearbox
Headup Games
PlayStation (Crash Bandicoot 4: It’s About Time)
Proletariat (Spellbreak)
Warner Bros Games (Lego Star Wars : The Skywalker Saga)
Xbox Game Studios
"And more!"

 

Login or Register

Login on our Forum!